UC SANTA BARBARA Graduate Student Association

General Assembly Minutes JAN 16th | 2024| 6-8 PM Hybrid Format

Meeting called by the GSA Co-Presidents Becky Martin and Annjulie Vester Minutes recorded by Gustavo Sampaio, VP of Communication & Events

Introduction and sign-in

Community Agreements

Roll Call (24 representatives present)

Approval of last meeting minutes – – MOTION APPROVED

Approval of current agenda – – MOTION APPROVED

Co-sponsorship Requests

- Math End-of-Year Social
 - Michael Keith

APPROVED

- Women in Geographical Sciences (WiGS) Social
 - Madison Heffentrager

APPROVED

- Student Health Insurance Experience Survey
 - Taft Crowley

APPROVED

GSA Executive Board of 2023-2024

We appreciate the tireless service and commitment to the graduate student community and the well-being of the GSA Executive Board of 2023-2024:

- Annjulie Vester External Co-President
- Bedlam Oak Internal Co-President
- Gustavo Prado Sampaio Vice President of Communication and Events

- Adrienne Tsikewa Vice President of Financial Affairs
- Miriam Burnett Vice President of External Affairs
- Felicia Rutland Vice President of Graduate Student Affairs

Thank you for your service and good luck in your future endeavors!

Welcome to the GSA Officer Board of 2024-2025

We are so excited to welcome the new Executive Board!

- Laura Snell External Co-President
- Gustavo Prado Sampaio Internal Co-President
- Alexander Luckmann Vice President of Communication and Events
- Bedlam Oak Vice President of Financial Affairs
- Anne Berry Vice President of External Affairs
- Sloane Stephenson Vice President of Graduate Student Affairs

Thank you to Staff and Administrators

We are so lucky to have a committed team of staff, admin, and other supporters working behind the scenes to support our goals and mission:

- Carlos Nash
- Robert Hamm
- Shawn Warner
- Alex Simms
- Jenna Riley Truesdell
- Betsy Meagher
- Shana Moran-Lanier
- Natalie Armistead
- Ryan Simms

2024 GSA Excellence in Teaching Award

The GSA Excellence in Teaching Award (ETA) recognizes graduate students who have shown excellence and gone above and beyond as teachers at UC Santa Barbara.

Award Recipients

Cedar Brown
Cypris Roalsvig
Evan Axel Andersson
Diana Magaña
Sara Tyberg
Veronica Wilson
Janeva Chung
Muhammed Malik Tuerkoen
Soham Chowdhury
Bernadette Ramirez
Heather Prentice-Walz

Patrick Norton

Honorable Mention Recipients

Elena G. Mailander
Michael Andrew Parra
Misa Nguyen
Tiffany Ta
Bailey Immel
Jacquelyn Chin
Kaela Farrise
Anusha Garg
Fernando J. Cano
Trace Martin
Ana Marqués García
Carina Paredes-Rivera
Gordon Abra
Luke Janes

2024 GSA Dixon-Levi Service Award

We also recognize outstanding members of the university community who have unselfishly devoted themselves to improving graduate student life with the Dixon-Levy GSA Service Award.

Award Recipients

Pedro Craveiro Kristy Ali Emily Fox Veronica Wilson

Honorable Mention Recipients

Elizabeth Quinn-Jensen Fabián Pavón Anthony Galaviz

These awards would not be possible without the incredible graduate students and staff that do the work of reading applications and nominations, and collaborating with one another on who to select for awards.